Become A Councillor Project Box

Become a Councillor

So, you think you may be interested in becoming a Town Councillor……?

Please read on for some outline information which may help you decide whether to stand as a candidate to join the Town Council.

What are parish councils?

Town and Parish Councils are the first tier of local government. There are over 9,000 parish councils throughout England, in both towns and rural areas, representing around 16 million people.  Parish councils represent the interests of their local communities, provide local services and work to improve the quality of life in the parish.  Parish councils may use only those specific legal powers or duties assigned to them, although some councils including LLTC have the “power of general competence” which provides greater scope to undertake additional services or projects.

Leighton-Linslade Town Council is comprised of 21 Councillors and approximately 40 members of staff, headed by the Town Clerk.  Each Council term is four years.  Currently, we have 8 electoral wards within the parish; this will change to 9 from May 2023.

In addition, the Town Council works in partnership with many local organisations and with the local authority, Central Bedfordshire Council.  We review and comment on planning applications within the parish, distribute community grants to local organisations and charities and seek to recognise exceptional local voluntary service through the Community Volunteer Awards scheme. The Town Council also works closely with Bedfordshire Police.

Parish Councils are generally not responsible for the following matters for which they do not have legal powers or duties: roads, pavements, litter collection, care provision, education, benefits, leisure centres, street lighting.

The next scheduled Central Bedfordshire ward and parish elections will be on Thursday 4 May 2023.

Find out more: https://www.centralbedfordshire.gov.uk/elections.

  • 4 March – Nomination papers issued
  • 14 March – Start of receipt of Nomination papers
  • 4 April – Close of nominations (4pm)
  • 7/10 April – Delivery of Poll cards
  • 11 April – Issue of Postal Votes (CBC)
  • 18 April – Issue of Postal Votes (Parish)
  • 4 May – elections
  • 5 May – Count
  • 16 June – Declaration of Candidates Expenses (including NIL returns)

To find out more, visit the Become a Councillor page on our website.